Galmudug Development office – Useful Links

Galmudug Development office – Useful Links

Useful Links

United Arab Emirates

Government, business and trade

Abu Dhabi Chamber of Commerce and Industry – www.adcci-uae.com
Sharjah Chamber of Commerce and Industry – www.sharjah.gov.ae
UAE Federal e-Government – www.government.ae/gov/en/index.jsp
UAE Federation of Chambers of Commerce – www.fcci.gov.ae

News and media

AME Info – www.ameinfo.com
Gulf News Daily – www.gulf-news.com
Khaleej Times – www.khaleejtimes.com
UAE Interact – www.uaeinteract.com

Travel and tourism

Department of Tourism and Commerce Marketing, Government of Dubai – www.dubaitourism.co.ae
UAE – www.uae.org.ae

Kuwait

Government, business and trade

Kuwait Chamber of Commerce and Industry – www.kcci.org.kw
Kuwait Investment Authority – www.kia.gov.kw/kia

News and media

Kuwait Times – www.kuwaittimes.net

Travel and tourism

Kuwaitiah Net – www.kuwaitiah.net/index.html

Saudi  Arabia

Government, business and trade

Chamber of Commerce Eastern Province  – (Dhahran) – www.chamber.org.sa/chamber_e/index.cfm
Council of Saudi Chambers of Commerce  – www.saudichambers.org.sa
Riyadh Chamber of Commerce & Industry  – www.riyadh-chamber.org.sa
Saudi Arabian General Investment Organization – www.sagia.org
Saudi Arabian Information Source –  www.saudinf.com/main/c5.htm
Saudi Arabian Standards Organization  – www.saso.org.sa
Tradearabia – www.tradearabia.com

News and media

Arab News – www.arabnews.com

Travel and tourism

Saudi Arabian Internet Pages – www.saudi-pages.com/cgi-bin/build-search?saudi/Recreation/Tour_Operators

Oman

Government, business and trade

ArabNet – www.arab.net
Chamber of Commerce and Industry – www.chamberoman.com
Omanet.om – www.omanet.om/english

News and media

ArabNet – www.arab.net
Oman Daily Observer – www.omanobserver.com
Times of Oman – www.timesofoman.com

Travel and tourism

Oman Ministry of Tourism – www.omantourism.gov.om
Bahrain

Government, business and trade

Bahrain Chamber of Commerce – www.bahrainchamber.org.bh/english/index.htm
Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs – www.bah-molsa.com/english/index.htm
Trade Arabia – www.tradearabia.com

News and media

BahrainPost.com – www.bahrainpost.com
Bahrain Tribune – www.bahraintribune.com
Gulf News – www.gulfnews.com

Travel and tourism

Bahrain Tourism – www.bahraintourism.com

Qatar

Government, business and trade

Ministry of Foreign Affairs – www.mofa.gov.qa/index.cfm
Qatar e-Government – www.e.gov.qa/eGovPortal/index.jsp
Qatar Info – www.qatar-info.com

News and media

Gulf Times – www.gulftimes.com
The Peninsula – www.thepeninsulaqatar.com

Travel and tourism

Explore Qatar – www.explore-qatar.com
Qatar Tourism Authority – www.experienceqatar.com/index1.php

Yemen

Government, business and trade

General Investment Authority – www.giay.org/eng/index.php

News and media

Yemen Times – http://yementimes.com

Travel and tourism

Yemen Tourism – www.yementourism.com

Syria

Government, business and trade

Federation of Syrian Chambers of Commerce – www.fedcommsyr.org/index-e.html
Ministry of Economy and Trade – www.syrecon.org/index.php?newlang=eng
Ministry of Industry – www.syrianindustry.org/index_e.html


Jordan

Government, business and trade

Amman Chamber of Commerce – www.ammanchamber.org
Amman Chamber of Industry – www.aci.org.jo
Customs Department – www.customs.gov.jo
Jordan Investment Board – www.jordaninvestment.com
Jordanian Free Zones Corporation – www.free-zones.gov.jo
Ministry of Finance – www.mof.gov.jo
Ministry of Industry and Trade – www.mit.gov.jo

News and media

AME Info – www.ameinfo.com
Jordan Information Centre – www.jordan.jo/en
Jordan News Agency – www.petra.gov.jo
Jordan Times – www.jordantimes.com

Travel and tourism

HM King Abdullah Official Website – www.kingabdullah.jo
Queen Rania Al Abdullah Official Website – www.queenrania.jo
Visit Jordan – www.visitjordan.com

Iran

Government, business and trade

Iran Chamber of Commerce, Industries and Mines – www.iccim.org/english/LDefault.aspx?nid=32
IRI Customs Administration – www.irica.gov.ir/EIndex.aspx
Ministry of Economic Affairs and Finance – http://mefa.gov.ir/ministry/index-eng.asp
Ministry of Foreign Affairs – www.mfa.gov.ir

News and media

Net Iran – www.netiran.com
Tehran Times – www.tehrantimes.com

Travel and tourism

Irpedia.com – www.irpedia.com

Reference websites

Comprehensive websites

Council for Australian–Arab Relations
www.dfat.gov.au/caar
Includes reference material for this publication.

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
www.dfat.gov.au
Essential advice on countries, trade developments, travel advisories.

Austrade
www.austrade.gov.au
Valuable information on preparing for export, data on overseas markets.

Australia Arab Chamber of Commerce and Industry
www.austarab.com.au
Essential site for Australian exporters to the Arab world.

Australian Arab Communities Council
www.arabcouncil.org.au
The Australian Arab community. Cross-cultural awareness seminars.

Gulf Co-operation Council
www.gcc-sg.org
Home page for the GCC.

UK Trade & Investment
www.trade.uktradeinvest.gov.uk/saudi_arabia/whatsnew/overview/travel.shtml
Country profile and market information from the UK Government.

Canada Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade
www.dfait-maeci.gc.ca/middle_east/doing_business-en.asp
A good guide to doing business in the Middle East.

Country Commercial Guide-Saudi Arabia
http://strategis.gc.ca/epic/internet/inimr-ri.nsf/en/gr00001e.html
Industry Canada site. Access Country Commercial Guides by US Department of Commerce.

Euromonitor
www.euromonitor.com/results_country.asp?country=SA
Produce market research reports on Saudi Arabia.

 General information on the Arab world

The Countries and Peoples of Arabia
www.hejleh.com/countries
Excellent introduction to the Arab world.

NITLE Arab Culture and Civilization
http://arabworld.nitle.org
Good material on Arab culture.

Arab World Documentation Unit
www.ex.ac.uk/awdu/index.htm
Economics, politics, history, and social issues in the Gulf.

World Press Review
www.worldpress.org/mideast.htm
Press articles on current events in the Middle East.

Middle East maps
www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/middle_east.html
Maps of the Middle East.

Wikipedia Encyclopedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki
Country data for the UAE and other Arab countries.

Executive Planet
www.executiveplanet.com
Guide to international business culture and etiquette.

ArabDataNet
www.arabdatanet.com
Business and political information.

ArabNet
www.arab.net
News and opinions on the Middle East. Country profiles.

Saudi Arabia websites

Council of Saudi Chambers of Commerce
www.saudichambers.org.sa/indexen.htm
Business news and events in Saudi Arabia.

Saudia Online
www.saudia-online.com
Business news and services in Saudi Arabia.

Saudi American Forum
www.saudi-american-forum.org
Comprehensive coverage of Saudi Arabia from a US perspective.

World Bank
www.worldbank.org/data/countrydata/aag/sau_aag.pdf
Saudi Arabia at a glance – economic fact sheet.

Saudi Info
www.saudinf.com
A Saudi government web page.

Arab business websites

AME-Info
www.ameinfo.com
One of the best business websites for the Middle East.

WN MidEast
www.wnmideast.com
A comprehensive news service on the Middle East.

MEED (Middle East Economic Digest)
www.meed.com
Authoritative business magazine covering events in the Middle East.

Zawya Arab Business
www.zawya.com
First class site for commercial and industry news.

Trade Arabia
www.tradearabia.com
Arab business site.

EIN News
www.einnews.com/saudiarabia/newsfeed-SaudiBusiness
News site.

Company websites dealing with business in the Middle East

Ernst & Young Middle East
www.ey.com/GLOBAL/content.nsf/Middle_East/Home_-_Welcome
Advice on company formation and tax.

Economic data

International Monetary Fund (IMF)
http://www.imf.org
See the IMF World Economic Outlook 2004 for country data.

Oxford Business Group
www.oxfordbusinessgroup.com
Economic and political analysis on a range of countries.

SAMBA
www.samba.com
Major Saudi bank. Good economic analysis in the Corporate Banking section.

Travel

Asinah Travel Guide
www.asinah.net
A global travel guide. Good country summaries on the Arab world.

HotelsTravel.com
www.hotelstravel.com/saudi.html
Accommodation service.

Oil

Oil.com
www.oil.com
All you need to know about oil and energy.

Arab world news

Aljazeera
http://english.aljazeera.net
Qatar-based Arab news service.

Middle East Information network
www.mideastinfo.com/news.html
Middle East news services.

al-bab.com
www.al-bab.com
News on the Arab world.

ArabView
www.arabview.com
Articles from leading Middle East journalists.

Al bawaba Middle East gateway
www.albawaba.com
Good country profiles.

Middle East newspapers and magazines

ABYZ News Links
www.abyznewslinks.com/saudi.htm
Links to online news.

Saudi Times
www.sauditimes.com
Saudi daily newspaper.

Haven Works
http://havenworks.com/world/saudi-arabia
News and links on Saudi Arabia.

Arab News
www.arabnews.com
English language daily, published in Saudi Arabia.

Gulf Business
www.gulfbusiness.com
Business monthly with regional coverage.

Middle East Times
www.metimes.com
Egypt-based daily with regional coverage.

Legal websites

Gulf Law
www.gulf-law.com
Information on law in the Arab Middle East. Includes Shariah law.

Defence

Middle East Newsline
www.menewsline.com
Mainly defence news.

Jane’s Middle East News
www.janes.com/regional_news/africa_middle_east
Business news with emphasis on defence and transport.

Other sites

US Geological Survey
minerals.er.usgs.gov/minerals/pubs/country/2001/samyb01.pdf
Survey of Saudi Arabia’s mineral industry – 2001.

Halal helpline
www.halalhelpline.org
Islamic dietary custom and laws.

Islamic Co-ordinating Council of Australia
www.icca.org.au
Halal foods and certification in Australia.

Australian–Arabic Council
www.aac.org.au
Human rights and community relations issues affecting Arabic culture.

CAAR

Council for Australian Arab Relations
http://www.dfat.gov.au/caar/
email: caar@dfat.gov.au
CAAR Secretariat
Middle East and Africa Branch
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Barton ACT 0221
t: (02) 6261 2090 f: (02) 6261 2640

 http://www.muslimtrade.net

Humanglobalization.org
Website:www.humanglobalization.org
Description:For a fresh look at globalization.


Organization name:ICC 

Website:www.iccarab.org
Description:ICC website in Arabic.


Organization name:International Monetary Fund

Website:www.imf.org
Description:Working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty.


Organization name:UN Development Business

Website:www.devbusiness.com
Description:For consulting, contracting,
and export opportunities worldwide.

Name:Investment Climate Database
Website:http://rru.worldbank.org/investmentclimate
Description:This site contains data on the investment climate in 58 countries, based on surveys of more than 28,000 firms. The surveys prov ide indicators of firm productivity and performance.

Organization name:World Trade Organization
Website:www.wto.org
Description:A rules-based, member-driven organization.

Organization name:World Bank
Name:Doing Business Database
Website:www.doingbusiness.org
Description:The Doing Business database provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement. The Doing Business indicators are comparable across 145 economies. They indicate the regulatory costs of business and can be used to analyze specific regulations that enhance or constrain investment, productivity and growth.

Organization name:Parnerships Central
Website:www.partnershipscentral.org
Description:Helping partnerships become a major force in sustainable development.


Organization name:International Trade Forum

Website:www.tradeforum.org
Description:The magazine of theInternational Trade Centre.

Organization name:International Trade Centre (Intracen)
Website:www.intracen.org
Description :The technical cooperation agency of UNCTAD and WTO for operational, enterprise-oriented aspects of trade development.